Election Notice

Hereby it is announced that from 02. December to 06. December 2019 the elections for the 47th Student Parliament and the Council of Student Representatives (Fachschaftsrat) of the University of Siegen will be held.

1. Voting period

The election is being held on the indicated days from 10:00 am - 4:00 pm.

2. Voting rights and eligibility for election

- a) For the Student Parliament
- I. All members of the student body of the University of Siegen who have been enrolled since October 28th 2019 and are listed in the electoral register are entitled to vote and eligible for election. Anyone who is properly enrolled is a member of the student body.
- II. Guest and second auditors are neither entitled to vote nor eligible to be voted for.
- III. Students on vacation semesters are entitled to vote and can be elected.
- b) For the Student Representatives Council
- I. All members of the student body of the University of Siegen who have been enrolled since October 28th 2019 and are listed in the electoral register are entitled to vote and can be elected in their respective student council.

Anyone who is properly enrolled is a member of the student body.

II. Guest and second auditors are neither entitled to vote nor eligible to be voted for.

3. Voting stations

Voting is possible at the following locations:

- 1. Adolf-Reichwein Campus In front of the Audimax Foyer HB
- 2. Hölderlin Campus 3. Floor, Central
- 3. Paul-Bonatz Campus Foyer Main Entrance

4. Emmy-Noether Campus In front of the lecture hall ENC-D 114

5. Campus Unteres Schloss Entrance US-D (Altes Krankenhaus)

Each voter can participate in the elections at any location. The election committee has the right to temporarily close individual ballot boxes if there are not enough election helpers. You need to bring your student ID card and an official identification document to participate in the vote.

4. Postal vote

It is possible to vote by post.

The postal vote must be requested in person or e-mail by 29 November 2019 at latest from the election management. The postal voting documents are then sent to the voter (only within Germany), but can also be collected personally at the AStA office. To apply for the postal vote, a valid student ID card must be presented together with an official identification document or passport.

a) Student Parliament

The letter documents consist of the ballot paper, a voting envelope on which the organ to be elected is noted, a ballot paper with the assurance that the person entitled to vote has personally filled in the ballot paper and a voting envelope addressed to the election management.

b) Student Representatives Council

The letter documents consist of the ballot paper, a voting envelope on which the relevant student council is noted, a ballot paper with the assurance that the person entitled to vote has personally filled in the ballot paper and a voting envelope addressed to the election management.

The election letter must have arrived at the election management by the last day of the election, 06 December 2019 at 4:00 pm.

5. Electoral register

The list of voters will be displayed in the AStA office latest from the 01 November 2019. Any objection against errors in the electoral register may be lodged with the electoral management until 11 November 2019. The objection must be made in written form. The election committee decides about this until 16 November 2019.

6. Nominations

- a) Student parliament
- I. Nominations must be submitted in written digital and printed form by 11 November 2019 to the election committee. The election committee provides forms for this purpose at the AStA office and on the AStA homepage. No hand-written nominations should be submitted.
- II. The nomination forms include the name of the list, the contact details of the person responsible, the name, matriculation number and faculty of the candidate as well the name of the organ to be elected.
- III. The written declaration of consent and the complete address of the candidate including e-mail address and telephone number must be enclosed with the election proposal.

- b) Student representatives council
- I. Nominations must be submitted in written digital and printed form by the 11 November 2019 to the election committee. The election committee provides forms for this purpose at the AStA Office and on the AStA homepage. No hand-written nominations should be submitted.
- II. The nomination forms include the name of the list, the contact details of the person responsible, the name, matriculation number and student council of the candidate and the name of the organ to be elected.
- III. The written declaration of consent and the complete address of the candidate including e-mail address and telephone number must be enclosed with the election proposal.

The mailbox of the election committee is located directly in front of the AStA office (AR-HB 002). Nominations in digital form should be sent to asta-wahlausschuss@uni-siegen.de .

7. Number of members to be elected

- a) The student parliament has 25 members.
- b) The number of mandates to be awarded to the student representatives is regulated by the student representatives' framework regulations or the corresponding student representatives' statutes.

8. Voting system

- a) Student parliament
- I. The entire student body of the University of Siegen forms one constituency for the election.
- II. Each voter has three votes, which can be distributed to the lists themselves or to candidates of different lists.
- III. Voting for the same nominee more than once is allowed.
- IV. Each voter has the right to abstain.
- b) Student representatives council
- I. Each student council shall form a constituency for the election.
- II. Foreign students who participate in the German course or Studienkolleg vote in their respective elective subject area.
- III. Each voter has one vote.
- IV. Each voter has the right to abstain.

The election committee and the election management can be reached via the AStA of the University of Siegen or by e-mail (asta-wahlausschuss@uni-siegen.de).

The election is hereby officially announced.

The election management

Jonas Meiners

Kathrin Wagner

Siegen, the 31 October 2019